BPC-157 half-life: what the studies measured
Half-life values for BPC-157 are all over the place online, from minutes to days. The published measurements come from one 2022 study in rats and dogs, which reports two different kinds of half-life. Below is what the study found, how it was measured, and what the FDA said about it in 2026.
In the 2022 rat and dog study the FDA cites, intact BPC-157 had a plasma half-life of 15.2 minutes in rats and 5.27 minutes in dogs after intravenous administration. The 102-hour figure from the same study tracks a radioactive label, not the peptide. The FDA found no human pharmacokinetic data.
For laboratory research use only. Not for human or veterinary use. Nothing here is medical advice.
What "half-life" means here
Elimination half-life (t1/2) is the time for a substance's plasma concentration to fall by half as the body clears it. Each value belongs to one species, one route and one assay.
The study: He et al., 2022 (rats and dogs)
The source behind almost every number is a paper by He and colleagues at the Air Force Medical University in Xi'an, China, published in Frontiers in Pharmacology on December 14, 2022.[1] Model: animal. The authors used Sprague-Dawley rats and beagle dogs, and their tables report means for six animals (n = 6). They made the test material in their own laboratory and purified it by HPLC to a stated "99% purity."[1] They call it "the first preclinical pharmacokinetic study of BPC157."[1]
The animals received BPC-157 intravenously (IV) once, intramuscularly (IM) once at three levels, and IM on seven consecutive days. Separate rats received a radiolabelled version.[1]
How it was measured
For the intact peptide, the authors used liquid chromatography with tandem mass spectrometry (LC-MS/MS). Calibration and quality-control samples were prepared in animal plasma with K3EDTA as anticoagulant, and BPC-157 and an internal standard, dextromethorphan, were extracted from 50 µl of plasma by solid phase extraction, then separated by liquid chromatography and detected by electrospray ionization on a tandem mass spectrometer.[1] The paper states the "linear quantification range of BPC157" as 4.00 to 4,000 ng/ml. Parameters were calculated with Watson LIMS software.[1] The mass spectrometer tells the intact peptide apart from its fragments; our page on mass spectrometry explains how a measured mass identifies a molecule.
To follow where the material went, the authors labelled BPC-157 with tritium (3H), a radioactive form of hydrogen, and counted radioactivity in plasma, urine, feces and bile. They separated the labelled breakdown products by HPLC with a radioactivity detector and identified them by LC-MS/MS.[1]
What it found for the intact peptide
| Species, route | Study parameter (µg/kg) | t1/2 (min) | Cmax (ng/ml) | Bioavailability |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rat, IV, single | 20 | 15.2 | not reported | reference |
| Rat, IM, single | 20 | 7.87 | 12.3 | 18.82% |
| Rat, IM, single | 100 | 17.1 | 48.9 | 14.49% |
| Rat, IM, single | 500 | 29.7 | 141 | 19.35% |
| Rat, IM, 7 consecutive days | 100 | 18.5 | 60.4 | not reported |
| Dog, IV, single | 6 | 5.27 ± 2.25 | not reported | reference |
| Dog, IM, single | 6 | 20.0 ± 5.53 | 1.05 ± 0.429 | 45.27% |
| Dog, IM, single | 30 | 25.5 ± 7.08 | 3.30 ± 0.508 | 47.64% |
| Dog, IM, single | 150 | 29.3 ± 5.06 | 26.1 ± 7.82 | 50.56% |
| Dog, IM, 7 consecutive days | 30 | 19.6 ± 3.72 | 5.89 ± 2.41 | not reported |
Peak plasma levels after a single IM administration came within minutes: 3 minutes in rats and about 6 to 9 minutes in dogs.[1] For both species the authors write: "The prototype drug could not be detected 4 h after administration." Prototype is their word for the unchanged peptide.[1]
A note on the dog figures. The paper gives 4.00 ng/ml as the low end of its quantification range, and it reports a dog Cmax of 1.05 ng/ml at the 6 µg/kg IM study parameter. The paper does not address the difference. The authors also state that "Many methodological validations were not included because of the limited space of the article."[1]
Why the 102-hour figure is not the peptide's half-life
In the radiolabel arm, rats received tritium-labelled BPC-157 IM (study parameter 100 µg/300 µCi/kg). Measured as total radioactivity in plasma, the half-life was 102 ± 32 hours, with a peak of 155 ± 11.8 ng-Eq/ml at 0.167 hours.[1]
Total radioactivity counts every molecule that carries the label: the intact peptide, its fragments and free amino acids. The authors found six radioactive components in rat plasma (M1 to M6) and identified M1 as tritium-labelled proline. They describe BPC-157 breaking down into small peptide fragments and then into single amino acids.[1] A label on free proline no longer measures BPC-157, so the 102-hour figure describes the label, not the intact peptide. The authors read the gap between the two numbers as a sign that the peptide is broken down extensively in the body.[1]
Over 72 hours, 15.88% of the radioactivity was recovered in urine and 2.25% in feces, and 54.31% remained in the carcasses.[1]
What the FDA's 2026 briefing says
The FDA's briefing document on BPC-157, dated May 11, 2026, was prepared for its Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee meeting of July 23, 2026.[2][3] It restates the He et al. values: "the half-life (t1/2) of BPC-157 ranges from 5.3 minutes in dogs to 15.2 minutes in rats."[2]
The FDA's own explanation for the short half-life is that it is "likely due to its hydrolysis catalyzed by blood- and/or tissue-specific peptidases." It notes that exposure rose in proportion across the IM study parameters, which "suggests that the pharmacokinetics of BPC-157 follows a first-order process."[2]
On people, the briefing is plain: "We found no human pharmacokinetic data for BPC-157 after oral, SC, nasal, or transdermal administration."[2] In two studies of rectal enemas, authors reported that BPC-157 was not detected in plasma, and one abstract said "most" plasma concentrations were below the assay's lower limit of quantification.[2] The FDA concludes: "There is no information to assess the pharmacokinetics of BPC-157 in humans."[2] The briefing is FDA staff's position, not a final decision. Our BPC-157 research summary covers the rest of the review.
| Date | Event |
|---|---|
| December 14, 2022 | He et al. published (rats and dogs).[1] |
| May 11, 2026 | Date on the FDA briefing document; it finds no human pharmacokinetic data.[2] |
| July 23, 2026 | The committee discusses BPC-157.[3] |
| October 13, 2026 | The FDA meeting page (content current as of 08/06/2026) still lists no minutes.[3] |
What the numbers do not tell you
- Anything about people. Every value above is from rats or dogs.[1]
- Other routes. The study measured IV and IM administration only.[1]
- Tissue levels. A plasma half-life is not a tissue measurement. The authors write that they "did not conduct metabolite analysis in tissues."[1]
- Stability in a test tube. The FDA cites a report that BPC-157 resists hydrolysis in gastric juice in vitro.[2] That is a different measurement from a half-life in circulating plasma.
Questions people ask
What is the half-life of BPC-157?
In He et al. 2022, intact BPC-157 had a plasma half-life of 15.2 minutes in rats and 5.27 minutes in dogs after IV administration, and values from 7.87 to 29.7 minutes after IM administration in the two species.[1] These are animal figures.
Why do some sources give a half-life in hours or days?
The same paper reports 102 hours for total radioactivity after tritium-labelled BPC-157. That figure follows the label, not the intact peptide.[1]
Has BPC-157's half-life been measured in people?
The FDA's 2026 briefing says it found no human pharmacokinetic data for oral, SC, nasal or transdermal administration, and that there is no information to assess the pharmacokinetics of BPC-157 in humans.[2]
What does BPC-157 break down into?
In rats, the authors found six radioactive components in plasma and identified one as proline, a single amino acid.[1]
For laboratory research use only. Not for human or veterinary use, diagnostic, or therapeutic purposes.
Sources (fetched October 13, 2026)
- He L, Feng D, Guo H, et al., Frontiers in Pharmacology, 2022;13:1026182, a pharmacokinetics, distribution and excretion study in rats and dogs (published December 14, 2022). PMCID PMC9794587, PMID 36588717: https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC9794587/
- FDA briefing document, Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee, BPC-157-related bulk drug substances (dated 5/11/2026): https://www.fda.gov/media/193343/download
- FDA, July 23-24, 2026 PCAC meeting page (content current as of 08/06/2026): https://www.fda.gov/advisory-committees/advisory-committee-calendar/july-23-24-2026-meeting-pharmacy-compounding-advisory-committee-07232026